About Us

The Union Territory of Puducherry constituted of the four erstwhile French establishments of Pondicherry, Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam. In September 2006, the territory changed its official name from Pondicherry to the aboriginal, Puducherry, which means "New village"  in the Tamil language. Puducherry and Karaikal are situated on the East Coasts in Tamil Nadu, Yanam in Andra Pradesh and Mahe on the West Coast in Kerala. The territory has a total area of 492 km²: Puducherry (city) 293 km², Karaikal 160 km², Mahe 9 km² and Yanam 30 km².

A wide range of educational Institutions right from the elementary level to collegiate level are there in the Union Territory of Puducherry.  The growth of literacy in Karaikal is also at better level. Besides, National Institute of Technology-Puducherry (NIT-P), Karaikal, the Government runs (i) two Arts and  Science Colleges,  (ii) Two Polytechnic Colleges, (iii) one College of Education and (iv) one Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru College of Agriculture (PAJANCOA & RI) in Karaikal region.  Also, there is Two Engineering Colleges, and one Medical College and Research Institute run by private managements in Karaikal.  


The PKIET was established under the ‘Engineering College (Karaikal) Society (Reg. No. 780 OF 2007 / 23.07.2007)’, registered under the Societies Registration Act 1860. The PKIET was inaugurated by the Hon’ble Chief Minister Thiru N. Rangasamy on 15.11.2007 and functioning from the academic year 2007-08.

Our motto is “Excellence through Technology”. The College Emblem comprises of : symbol representing the UT of Puducherry, the Atomic structure represents Basic Sciences, the Computer represents the world of Information Technology, the Gear Wheel represents Basic Engineering concepts and the Tower represents the arena of Communication Technology.